Monday, January 23, 2023

Online Film Critics Society Announce 2022 Award Winners

Online Film Critics Society (OFCS) today announces winners of their top film honors of 2022, as well as technical awards, Special Achievement and Lifetime Achievement honors for industry leaders and icons, and the organization’s top 10 films of the year, both those released in the U.S. and without U.S. release to date. Leading with a total of six wins is EVERYTHING EVERYWHERE ALL AT ONCE; THE BANSHEES OF INISHERIN earns four awards, while a total of twelve films earned awards overall this year. A complete list of winners and special awards is below.

Comprised of nearly 300 voting members from around the world who represent outlets including Variety, The Hollywood Reporter, Slant, Paste Magazine, AARP, Sight & Sound, Screen Anarchy, Collider, The Film Stage and many more, the Online Film Critics Society annually presents traditional awards including Best Picture, Director, Actor and Actress, among others. Founded in 1997, members of the OFCS explore the nature of film from historical, sociological, political, emotional, technical, and other perspectives, appreciating film as a medium for art and a mode of entertainment.

The 2022 Online Film Critics Society awards honor a broad list of films and creators, including a number of box office blockbusters and independent gems alike. With six wins, EVERYTHING EVERYWHERE ALL AT ONCE tops the organization’s awards this year, earning Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actress (Michelle Yeoh), Best Supporting Actor (Ke Huy Quan), Best Editing and Best Production Design. THE BANSHEES OF INISHERIN is named Best Original Screenplay and Best Original Score, as well as Best Actor (Colin Ferrell) and Best Supporting Actress (Kerry Condon). 

In addition to the 2022 top film honors, the Online Film Critics Society recognizes the work and contributions of several professionals and organizations with their annual Special Achievement and Lifetime Achievement Awards. OFCS membership are invited to nominate recipients of both awards, for achievements they deem worthy of these recognitions. Receiving this year’s Special Achievement Award is: Geena Davis, founder of the Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media; Maya Cade and the Black Film Archive; and The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Museum (for providing a site where all aspects of cinema can be displayed). Earning Lifetime Achievement Award recognition are industry titans Ruth E. Carter (costume designer); Claire Denis (director); Pam Grier (actor); Barbara Kopple (documentarian); and Bruce Willis (actor). Finally, the OFCS recognizes a slate of ten international films as the best releases outside the U.S. in 2022.